Home   What's On   Music   Article

North fiddlers to the fore in Trad Award nominations

By SPP Reporter

Duncan Chisholm
Duncan Chisholm

NORTH fiddle players are well represented in this year’s MG Alba Scots Trad Awards with Kirkhill’s Duncan Chisholm and Nairn musicians Rua Macmillan and Mike Vass all nominees in separate categories.

Inverness’s Bruce MacGregor also has a nomination, but not as a musician. His Bogbain Farm venue in nominated as venue of the year.

Among the new entries to the Trad Hall of Fame is the late Donald Riddell CBE, the fiddle maker, composer and teacher who included Chisholm and MacGregor among his pupils.

There is also a posthumous award for Nairn fiddler Ian Hardie who died in October.

Inverness born fiddler Chisolm has been nominated for Instrumentalist of the Year. A founding member of the folk rock group Wolfstone, he often tours with the Scottish Gaelic singer Julie Fowlis, who is also nominated in the Trad Music in the Media category at this year’s awards, and Wolfstone’s previous lead singer Ivan Drever.

Rua Macmillan and his trio are in contention for Folk Band of the Year, putting Macmillan up against his former bandmates in the Paul McKenna Band, while Mike Vass is nominated as composer.

The public can now vote for the winners in the Awards’ 10th anniversary year across 16 categories by logging online at www.scotstradmusicawards.com/voting.

The winner of each category will be the artist who receives an equal combination of the most industry and fan votes.

Public voting will close on Wednesday 21st November and all winners will be announced at a ceremony hosted by Mary Ann Kennedy and Tony Kearney on Saturday 8th December at the Nevis Centre, Fort William

The winners of three special categories have been chosen by music and industry experts to be inserted into the Scottish Traditional Music Hall of Fame sponsored by Fèisean nan Gàidheal. The performers who will be inducted this year include Riddell, the late Martyn Bennett, Anne Lorne Gillies and Roddy MacLeod MBE. The Hamish Henderson Services to Traditional Music Award will be awarded to Isobel Mieres while the Services to Gaelic Music Award goes to Rory and Calum Macdonald, the writing partnership and constant members of Gaeldom’s most successful band, Runrig.

"Traditional music still thrives in Scotland — from festivals and events to bands, pipers, singers and even record labels, there are thousands of people around the country that continue to make the scene grow," event founder and promoter Simon Thoumire commented.

"I’m delighted that over the past 10 years we’ve been able to give something back, but really I should be thanking all our talented nominees, for without them, the awards would be nothing.

"We’re going to mark our milestone with a brilliant event so get your tickets now."

Donald Campbell, Chief Executive of event sponsors MG ALBA said "We are delighted to sponsor the Scots Trad Music Awards for a fifth year. Tickets are available now from the Nevis Centre by calling 01397 700707 or by logging onto www.neviscentre.co.uk.

Artists performing at the Awards ceremony will include Treacherous Orchestra, Karine Polwart, Inveraray and District Pipe Band and Gordon Duncan Experience.

Treacherous Orchestra
Treacherous Orchestra

•Shortlist for this year’s MG ALBA Scots Trad Music Awards:

Album of the Year — Karine Polwart, Traces; Kathleen MacInnes, Cille Bhride (Kilbride); Treacherous Orchestra, Origins; Rachel Newton, The Shadow Side.

Instrumentalist of the Year —Duncan Chisholm; Ross Ainslie; Megan Henderson; Lorne MacDougall.

Composer of the Year — Simon Bradley; Mike Vass; Paul Anderson; Laura-Beth Salter.

Event of the Year — Scots Fiddle Festival; Stonehaven Folk Festival; Feis na Mara; Gerry Rafferty tribute at Celtic Connections.

Up and Coming Artist of the Year — Brandon McPhee; Alistair Ogilvy; Rona Wilkie; Niteworks

Trad Music in the Media — Paddy Bort, Life and legacy of Hamish Henderson and the Scottish Folk Revival; Gary West, Voicing Scotland; Julie Fowlis, Brave; Na Caimbeulaich documentary.

Citty Finlayson Scots Singer of the Year — Scott Murray; Paul McKenna; Christine Kydd; Alasdair Roberts.

Music Tutor of the Year — Sharon Hassan; Scott Murray; Gillian Frame; Lynsey Tait.

Venue of the Year — An Tobar, Mull; Bogbain Farm, Inverness; Sandy Bells/Forrest Hill Bar, Edinburgh; New Cample Farm, Thornhill, Dumfries.

Live Act of the Year — Kris Drever; The Shee; Fred Morrison Band; Session A9.

Scottish Folk Band of the Year — Rura; Breabach; Rua Macmillan Trio; Paul McKenna Band.

Gaelic Singer of the Year — Isobel Ann Martin; Riona Whyte; Gillie Mackenzie; Fiona J. Mackenzie.

Community Project of the Year — Tiree Music Festival; Scots Music Group Inspire Project; Feis Rois Local and National Ceilidh Trail 2012; Glasgow Irish Minstrels Branch of Comhaltas.

Scottish Dance Band of the Year — Deoch and Dorus; Monach Isle Ceilidh Band; Charlie Kirkpatrick Scottish Dance Band; Graeme Mitchell Scottish Dance Band.

Pipe Band of the Year — Denny and Dunipace Gleneagles Pipe Band; Coalburn IOR Pipe Band; ScottishPower Pipe Band; George Watson’s College Pipe and Drums.

Club of the Year — Balerno Folk Club; Falkirk Folk Club; Highland Accordion & Fiddle Club; Aberdeen Folk Club.

2012 Special Awards (not for voting)

Scottish Traditional Music Hall of Fame — Silly Wizard; Ian Hardie; Jim Halcrow; Roddy MacLeod MBE; Norman MacLean; Anne Lorne Gillies; Martyn Bennett; Donald Riddell CBE; Hamish Imlach.

Hamish Henderson Services to Traditional Music Award — Isobel Mieras.

Services to Gaelic Music — Rory Macdonald and Calum Macdonald.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More